Assembly polls 2022-Ludhiana to have 1310 auxiliary polling stations

Dc holds meeting with political parties after eci's directions of auxiliary polling stations due to covid-19

Ludhiana : In view of the anticipated third wave of the Covid-19 pandemic that may hit in the last months of this year, the district administration would set up 1310 auxiliary polling stations in the district in addition to the 2749 existing polling stations for maintaining social distancing norm during the voting.Presiding over a meeting with representatives of the various political parties, Deputy Commissioner (DC)-cum-District Electoral Officer (DEO) Varinder Kumar Sharma said that to take precautionary measures for preventing the overcrowding of voters in a polling station due to Covid-19, the Election Commission of India (ECI) has decided to limit the number of voters for each polling station at 1000 and the auxiliary station will be established wherever the number of voters exceeds 1000.He said that as per the latest data till January 15, 2021, Ludhiana has 2606484 voters and 2749 polling stations due to which the administration would create 1310 auxiliary polling stations in the same buildings or premises where presently 1000 and adjacent buildings.

Sharma said that Ludhiana would have a total of 4059 polling stations out of which 3894 can be created in the existing buildings where polling stations persist currently and 133 polling stations can be set up in nearby buildings besides for remaining 32 polling stations, directions have been issued to the Assistant Returning Officers to immediately finalize the locations.He told the representatives of political parties to meet the Assistant Returning Officers of all 14 legislative assembly segments and must check the locations of these 1310 auxiliary polling stations so that these can be prepared as polling stations for the upcoming assembly elections due in 2022.Sharma also solicited their support in creating awareness about registration of new voters among the general public about and toll-free helpline 1950 so that maximum and maximum can be enrolled as voters.Prominent among present on the occasion Additional Deputy Commissioner Amarjeet Bains, Tehsildar Elections Anju Bala, and others.





DC LudhianaDeputy Commissioner LudhianaVarinder Kumar Sharma